Young Women Relieved Church Sticking with BSA

girls-women-happy-53364
An almost audible sigh of relief could be heard from the Church’s young women across the United States when it was announced today that the Church would continue to utilize the Boy Scouts of America as its program to instill high moral values and practical skills in its young men.

“I’ve been worried for weeks now that the Church would drop the BSA,” said Chelsey Winnacker, 16, of Kaysville, Utah. “How else would boys my age be taught really important skills like swimming, life-saving, knot-tying, and whatever else they do? I think Boy Scouts are really important for boys, and the thought of all that going away was almost making me sick with worry.”

“It’s super important that boys get to do all those really fun things all the time, like hiking and camping and all the high adventure stuff,” opined Laura Billings, 14, of Denver Colorado. “Plus it will help them become leaders in a lot of different ways, which they need to be the heads of families, and corporations, and governments, things like that.”

Lori Huntington, Young Women’s President in her ward in Pleasant Grove, Utah, was similarly relieved, though for slightly different reasons.

“All of the high adventure and practical skills boys need to survive in the wilderness are of course very important. But with two sons in Young Men’s, I’ve been very concerned that high moral standards would no longer be a focus if they couldn’t be Boy Scouts anymore. And the civic participation and leadership development inculcated in our young men is just second to none in Boy Scouts. I really feel like it develops them into full human beings.”

“I couldn’t eat for like, a month,” said Krista Bennington, 17, a young woman in Meridian, Idaho. “I can’t think of anything more important for the Youth than Boy Scouts. There’s just so much that boys can learn and do, and in the patrols and camps and leadership meetings I’ve seen my brothers develop really strong bonds with other boys and their leaders. When I heard the Church was thinking about getting out of Scouting, my first thought was, ‘What could they possibly do then? Personal Progress for boys?’ It was awful to even consider.”

“Our leaders are definitely divinely directed,” she added.

“I’ve already been on the phone with several of the Young Women leaders in my stake,” said Sherri Miles, a Stake Young Women’s President in Upland, California. “We’re getting all the Young Women together to plan a huge celebration of the Boy Scouts continuing in our stake. The Young Men will be our special guests of honor. We just want to show our support for our boys, and really make sure they know how important their personal development is for the future of the church.”

When asked for his reaction to the news, local Boy Scout Scott Weaver, 13, just shrugged and said, “It’s cool, I guess.”

